A new year will see a new line-up with the Peel-Harvey Catchment Council Board, with three new members joining the community organisation. PHCC chair Jan Star said she was delighted to welcome Paddi Creevey, Michael Schultz and Darralyn Ebsary to the board of the natural resources management entity.

“The Peel-Harvey catchment is at a cross-roads. There is an opportunity to engage prospective stakeholders of the Peel region in innovative solutions needed for sustainable development, and we have assembled an excellent board. Paddi Creevey OAM is a highly popular and caring community leader who needs little introduction. We are extremely pleased to welcome her, and we are very excited about our two other new members, Darralyn Ebsary of Tanglefood Winery who was formerly a Landcare Officer and Chair of Corrigin Land Conservation District Committee and Michael Schultz, a renowned NRM academic who was most recently program manager for Biodiversity at the South West Catchments Council,” said Jan Star.

The assembly of the new board comes at a critical point in the Peel Harvey Catchment Council’s ongoing development.

“We’re very excited about having these new members join our board at such a significant time in our history,” said Jan Star. “Midway through the 2014 year, we officially became the 55th Natural Resource Management region in Australia giving us national status. We released our NRM strategy for the Peel-Harvey in late 2014, and it will be presented to our board at their December meeting seeking endorsement. The final document will be released to the community early next year.”

The Australian Government has committed $3.6 million to protect and enhance biodiversity of the internationally significant, Ramsar-listed Peel-Yalgorup system during a four year timeframe. The Peel-Harvey Catchment Council is managing the project which includes landscape scale restoration, community engagement and planning across six priority sites in the 1.2 million hectare Peel-Harvey catchment.


Contact: Jane O’Malley, Executive Officer, Peel-Harvey Catchment Council, Jane.Omalley@peel-harvey.org.au (08) 6369 8800

We acknowledge the Noongar people as Traditional Custodians of this land and pay our respects to all Elders past and present