Peel-Harvey Catchment Administrative Boundaries

Peel-Harvey Boundaries

The Important Role of Local Government

While recognising the involvement and role of all NRM partners, it is important to highlight the role of local government in the on-ground delivery of NRM programs for the following reasons.

  • They are community based with elected representatives, and hence likely to have significant support and interaction with the local community.
  • They have considerable experience in acting as a local ‘first port of call’ and integrating agency for planning and management of the local natural environment.
  • They are generally able to adapt and respond quickly to new issues and emerging knowledge affecting the use and management of local natural resources.
  • They are able to address the sustainable use and management of resources through land use planning processes with statutory backing

Planning processes include local planning strategies, rural strategies, structure plans and development applications. All of these are backed up by regulatory mechanisms associated with Town Planning Schemes and Statements of Planning Policy.

In relation to land use planning processes, the catchment is affected by three regional planning schemes developed by the Western Australian Planning Commission They are:

  • Perth Metropolitan Region Scheme
  • Peel Region Scheme, and
  • Greater Bunbury Region Scheme.

Region schemes are important because they aim to ensure that planning at local levels reflects regional aspirations, particularly in relation to infrastructure but also to NRM matters such a provision of regional open space, protection of bushland areas, and protection of strategic resource areas for agriculture and basic raw materials.

The Peel-Harvey Catchment (hydrological) encompasses all or portions of sixteen local government authorities that can be grouped according to Planning Regions as follows:

Metropolitan Planning Region
Town of Kwinana
City of Cockburn
Serpentine-Jarrahdale Shire
City of Rockingham
City of Armadale

Peel Planning Region
City of Mandurah
Shire of Murray
Shire of Waroona
Shire of Boddington

Wheatbelt Planning Region
Shire of Wandering
Shire of Williams
Shire of Cuballing
Shire of Narrogin
Shire of Wickepin

South West Planning Region
Shire of Harvey
Shire of Collie

Regional Development Organisations

The Peel-Harvey Catchment is centred over the Peel Region but also encompasses portions of the Wheatbelt and South West Regions. Accordingly the Peel, Wheatbelt and South West Development Commissions are important NRM partners.